Looking for how to factory reset your iPhone with iTunes? Here's everything you need to know to reset an iPhone to factory default settings with or without using a passcode.
Sometimes, you want to use your iPhone but only find it says iPhone Unavailable or Security Lockout. Or maybe you've got a new iPhone and want to erase all your personal data on the old iPhone. In those cases, factory resetting your iPhone will be a quick way to help you out.
Whether you want to regain the access to your disabled iPhone, or wipe out all the previous content to sell the old iOS device, you can simply factory reset your iPhone with iTunes, which will take your iOS device back to its default state so that it can be used again.
And You don't have to worry about losing all your data or files as you can still restore your content and settings from a recent backup after the factory reset. Now, take a look at how to reset your iPhone to factory settings with iTunes:
Table of Contents
Note: Resetting iPhone to default setting will erase all your current data but you can restore the lost data from your iCloud or computer backup.
Due to the Apple's security policy, nobody can get into your iPhone without knowing the correct iPhone passcode. So when your iPhone locks you out and you forget your own lock screen passcode, you'll have to factory reset your device so that you can access and use it again. To proceed that, the easiest way you can try is to reset your iPhone with iTunes. Simply launch iTunes on your computer, and follow the steps to bring your locked iPhone to factory settings with passcode:
Step 1: Open the latest iTunes on Windows or macOS 10.14 and earlier. If your computer is running macOS 10.15 and later version, launch the Finder on your computer instead.
Step 2: Connect your iPhone to your computer in its Recovery Mode. To do that, power off your iPhone first, and then do one of the following:
Make sure not to release the right button before the Recovery Mode screen shows up on your iPhone. You will see a cable-to-computer icon once your iOS device enters the Recovery Mode successfully.
Step 2: Click the Restore option when your computer reads your iPhone successfully. Make sure to select the Restore option instead of the Update.
Step 3: A new dialog box will pop up, asking you to confirm the Restore and Update option. This is to download and install the newest iOS version on your iPhone, so your iPhone will be reset to factory settings without using a passcode.
Step 4: Follow the on-screen steps and wait for the latest iOS version to download.
Once done, your iPhone will be taken back to its factory default. Your lock screen passcode is removed, and everything else on your iPhone is erased and gone. You can now set up your unlocked iPhone as a new one, and go through the setup process from the Hello screen.
Note: Make sure to keep your iPhone connected before the latest iOS version is installed on your device.
Once you are done resetting your iPhone, you will be greeted by iPhone's initial welcome screen. You can now reset it. You can set up your Wi-Fi network, choose your language, and use a new lock screen passcode. What's better, you can restore your previous iPhone data during the setup process.
How to restore your iPhone data after factory reset:
Factory resetting your iPhone is much easier if you do remember your iPhone passcode as well as your Apple ID & password. After you perform a factory reset on your iPhone, all your current content and settings will be wiped out, and your iPhone will restart on the Hello screen.
Factory reset your iPhone without iTunes when you know the passcode:
Once done, you will see your iPhone restart. You can go through the setup when the Hello screen appears.
If you can't remember your passcode when you need to use your iPhone, all you need to do is to open the iTunes on your computer and connect your iPhone to iTunes in Recovery Mode. This allows you to factory reset your iPhone by easing all the content and settings on your device, giving you access to set it up again.